Ontario has administrative fine scheme effective January 1

CCCS issues guidance for safeguarding Microsoft AD service

Yukon, access to information registry has privacy breach

Privacy Commission of Canada launches new strategic plan –watch video

English Information Commissioner consults on draft guidance on generative AI

Nunavut’s privacy commissioner investigates government’s mail practices

Alberta promises increased privacy protections

British Columbians facing longer wait times to access records from BC Government

Ontario IPC blog on AI and the public sector

England’s ICO issues Tech Horizons Report

About - The Commissioner

The Commissioner

Ronald J. Kruzeniski, K.C.Ronald J. Kruzeniski, Q.C.

Ron obtained a Bachelor of Administration and a Law degree from the University of Saskatchewan. He was called to the Saskatchewan Bar in 1973. Ron was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1984.

He was in private practice in Regina for 16 years, during which time he was Chief Commissioner of the Human Rights Commission. He has also practiced law in the Ministry of Justice and in 1995 was appointed the Public Guardian and Trustee. In 2014, Ron was appointed the Information and Privacy Commissioner for the Province of Saskatchewan.

Ron has been involved in various senior volunteer roles over the years including the Alzheimer Society of Saskatchewan, the Canadian Bar Association National Elder Law Section, the Public Legal Education Association of Saskatchewan, the Saskatchewan Legal Aid Commission, the Law Society of Saskatchewan, the Regina Catholic School Board, the Campion College Board of Regents, the Regina Public Library Board and the Saskatchewan School Boards Association and the Canadian Institute for the Blind.

Ron is a recipient of the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal, the Canadian Bar Association Community Service Award, and the recipient of the Saskatchewan Centennial Medal.


List of past Commissioners

2014 – 2014         Diane Aldridge (Acting Commissioner)

2003 – 2014         R. Gary Dickson, Q.C.

2002 – 2003         Richard P. Rendek, Q.C.

2001 – 2003         Franklin Alexander MacBean, Q.C. (Acting Commissioner)

2000 – 2002         Gerald Gerrand, Q.C.

1992 – 2000         Derril McLeod, Q.C.